Welcome to the Men's Stag Night 2018 Season

Scramble vs Best Ball

Jun 13, 2018 | Posted by Jeff Roy

When one is confronted with an ongoing dilemma such as the misinterpretation of age old descriptions one must do one’s best to try and set the record straight. So, in an attempt to set the record straight I will wade out into the English language. The same language that thinks its perfectly fine to say, “since there is not time like the present, Fred thought it was time to present Daryl with the present.” Really, no wonder I failed English!

However, getting back to the task at hand which is to try my best to right a wrong. The “Scramble” format is not a recognized form of play under the Rules of Golf. Rule 29 – Threesome and Foursome, Rule 30 – Three-Ball, Best Ball and Four-Ball Match Play, Rule 31 – Four-Ball Stroke Play and finally Rule 32 – Bogey, Par and Stableford Competitions. There you have it all listed forms of play as outlined in the Rules of Golf. (which will most likely change on January 1st next year)

Now when our Leader, Sir Fred of the House of Moreau stays up at night and consumes copious amounts of OV in order to plan out our “Scramble” night format we his humble servants must applaud. Each “Scramble” night comes with its own set of rules. So intricate and devious is this format one must refer to the “set of rules” on each tee to determine the order of play. Our team last week carried out the same conversation on every tee, “no, no it’s A & C not C & B teeing off or is it B & A, just check the sheet.” I truly believe Fred wanted to get each group enthralled in a frantic conversation at least once per hole, mission accomplished.

Now the “Scramble Format” is when each member of a team tee’s off. The team members then proceed to pick up their balls and bring them to where the best drive has come to rest. You continue play from there. Always going to where the best shot comes to rest. This is where the confusion comes in as to the term Best Ball. No this is a Scramble.

A Best Ball format must be played with 3 or more players. You record the Best Score on each hole whether Net or Gross as to the team of 3 or 4 players. When you play this format with two golfers you have a Two Man Better Ball. Better Ball of two or Best Ball of three or more. You can not massacre the “Queens English” as Dr. Sim used to say so proudly to Bubba Cool. The proper use of Better and Best was honed into our physiques by this great Doctor.

So, if everyone can now right this wrong when confronted by it we could hope to eradicate this wrong in say the next 100 years or so.

Scramble On!



New Comment (HTML tags are not allowed)

This Week's Hi-Lights...

Low Team


Stan s Team

Luke s Team

Low Gross

Ken Burke Sr.

Low Net

Net Flight : Handicap Range 0 to 9

Keith Huntingdon

Net Flight : Handicap Range 10 to 40


Larry Layne

David Drummond


Gross Flight +3 to 9.0

Skin Value: $92.00

Randy Mackay

Gross Flight 10.0 to 25.0

Skin Value: $2.25

Joe Biamonte

Larry Layne

Darryl MacMicken

Ricky Thompson

Men's Stag Night Sponsors:

Promote Your Business!

League Sponsorship Available


Canadian Tire Port Colborne

Gold Sponsor

Molson - Coors Light

Find Us on Facebook

Weather on course
19℃ / Clear
Full Forcast

Money List
Pos. Name Winnings
1 Ken Burke Sr. $74.33
2 Chris Rivando $62.8
3 Sunny Tutti $49.17
4 Jeff Roy $46
5 Kevin Dobbs $43.33
6 Bryan Hilborn $37
7 Randy Mackay $35
8 Brian Friedlein $27.34
9 John Carbone $27
10 Jeff Galipeau $26
11 Ted Kicinski $20
12 Paul Putney $19.91
13 Bryan Foebel $19.5
14 Gord Tellier $18.5
15 Rick Heywood $16.45
16 Gary Pinelli $15.17
17 Earl Tobias $14.75
18 Kevin Hall $14.3
19 Roger Beck $14.05
T20 Barrie Wilson $14
T20 Phil Clough $14
T20 Michael Ker $14
T20 Brian Pye $14
T24 Rick Desjardins $13.67
T24 Ron Lindhorst $13.67
T24 Ed Bogucki $13.67
27 Gary Rodgers $13.03
28 Mike Boulard $10
T29 Jim Hollingshead $9.25
T29 Bob Beck $9.25
T31 Ron Lee $8.5
T31 Jim Huntingdon $8.5
33 Tom Moffatt $7.47
34 Dean Miller $7.45
T35 Dennis VanBrussel $7.25
T35 Marty Smits $7.25
T37 Jindy Bains $6.8
T37 Fred Moreau $6.8
T39 Art Cunningham $6.67
T39 David Drummond $6.67
T41 Asger Skrubbeltrang $5.33
T41 John Pool $5.33
43 Stan Sigut $4.5
44 Kent Sauder $4.25
45 Darryl MacMicken $2.6
46 Garry Patrick $2
47 Michael Behm $0.5
T48 Jeff Airhardt $0
T48 Luke Nieuwland $0
T48 Lou Nieuwland $0
T48 Dave Humber $0
T48 Bill Ayotte $0
T48 Joe Biamonte $0
T48 Lonnie Daradick $0
T48 Bob Desjardins $0
T48 Carmine Guadagno $0
T48 Mark Hardy $0
T48 Ricky Thompson $0
T48 Marc Huminilowycz $0
T48 Keith Huntingdon $0
T48 Larry Layne $0
T48 Steve Mester $0
T48 John Sider $0
Total Payout $817.01